Navratri time

Navratri time, a vibrant and spiritually significant festival, holds a special place in the hearts of millions of Hindus across the world. “Nav” means nine and “Ratri” meaning night. Navratri is a nine-night festival dedicated to the worship of the Goddess Durga and her various manifestations. Celebrated twice a year, during the months of Chaitra (spring) and Ashwin (autumn), Navratri is a time of intense devotion, colorful festivities, and cultural traditions.

The Spiritual Significance of Navratri time:

Navratri finds its roots in ancient Hindu mythology. Believers hold that during this period, Goddess Durga, an embodiment of divine feminine power, engaged in a nine-day battle against the demon Mahishasura. Each day of Navratri associates itself with one of her forms, referred to as “avatars,” symbolizing distinct facets of her strength and grace. Each day of Navratri is associated with one of her forms, also known as “avatars,” which symbolizes different facets of her strength and grace. These forms include Shailaputri, Brahmacharini, Chandraghanta, Kushmanda, Skandamata, Katyayani, Kalaratri, Mahagauri, and Siddhidatri. As in other ancient belief systems, worshipping each form is believed to invoke blessings for health, prosperity, wisdom, and protection.

The Festive Preparations of Navratri time

Meticulous preparations mark the onset of Navratri, including cleaning and adorning homes, arranging intricate and colorful “rangoli” designs at entrances, and constructing beautifully adorned idols of Goddess Durga. People often fast during these nine days, refraining from consuming certain foods and practices as a form of spiritual cleansing and devotion.

The Garba and Dandiya Dance:

One of the most recognizable aspects of Navratri is the vibrant and energetic dance forms known as Garba and Dandiya-Raas. These dances are performed in groups, where participants dance in circles, usually around a lit lamp or an idol of the Goddess. The dance steps are intricate, with rhythmic claps and footwork that embody the festive spirit. Dandiya-Raas, a dance involving sticks, symbolizes the playfulness of Lord Krishna and his interactions with the Gopis (milkmaids).

Cultural Diversity and Unity:

Navratri time transcends religious boundaries and has been embraced by various cultures and communities. It is a time when people come together to celebrate the diversity of India’s heritage, showcasing colorful costumes, music, dance, and culinary delights. This shared celebration fosters a sense of unity and harmony among people of different backgrounds.

The Culmination of Navratri time- Vijayadashami:

Navratri culminates with the tenth day, known as Vijayadashami or Dussehra, which commemorates the victory of Goddess Durga over the demon Mahishasura. This day is also significant as it marks the triumph of Lord Rama over the demon king Ravana, as recounted in the epic Ramayana. In some parts of India, elaborate processions featuring larger-than-life effigies of Ravana, Kumbhakarna, and Meghanada are paraded through the streets and eventually set ablaze, symbolizing the victory of good over evil.

Personal and Spiritual Renewal

Beyond the festivities, Navratri offers devotees a chance for personal and spiritual renewal. The nine days are often seen as an opportunity for introspection, self-improvement, and prayer. Many devotees seek to strengthen their connection with the divine, expressing gratitude, seeking guidance, and praying for blessings.

Navratri time: Honoring Goddess Durga’s Nine Manifestations

Over the course of nine nights, individuals observe the Navratri festival with deep devotion and prayers. Each day is dedicated to a specific manifestation of Durga Maa, and adherents are expected to wear the designated colors for each day.

Day 1: Shailaputri / Pratipada On Pratipada, the focus is on Goddess Shailaputri. The term “Shaila” refers to a mountain, while “putri” signifies daughter. This day highlights the significance of Goddess Parvati, who is regarded as the daughter of the Mountain God.

Day 2: Brahmacharini / Dwitya Dwitya is devoted to Goddess Brahmacharini, an incarnation of Durga Devi known for pacifying anger. Thus, the second day of Navratri is dedicated to this particular aspect of the goddess.

Day 3: Chandraghanta / Tritya Chandraghanta is venerated on Tritiya. This form of Durga is believed to possess a third eye and engages in battle against malevolent demons. During the puja, devotees offer jasmine flowers to appease her.

The cosmic egg and compassion on Navratri time

Day 4: Kushmanda / Chaturthi Chaturthi commemorates Goddess Kushmanda, whose name translates to “cosmic egg.” She is associated with radiating energy and warmth to all.

Day 5: Skandamata / Panchami Panchami celebrates Goddess Skandamata, the ruler of Budha (the Mercury planet). She is admired for her blend of fierceness and compassion.

Day 6: Katyayini / Shashti Shashti, the sixth day, is connected to Devi Katyayani, an incarnation that emerged to vanquish the Demon King. Women pray to her for marital and familial harmony.

Day 7: Kalaratri / Saptami Saptami is a special day for honoring Goddess Kalaratri. Her fearsome nature is said to have struck terror into evil spirits across the cosmos. She is Kali Devi’s most destructive manifestation and holds dominion over Lord Shani (Saturn Planet).

Day 8: Mahagauri / Ashtami On the eighth day, Mahagauri is revered. She wears white attire and rides a bull. This day involves Kanya Puja, a ceremony dedicated to young virgin girls. It’s known as Mahashtami or Maha Durgashtami and is marked by dance, joy, and devotion.

Day 9: Siddhidaatri / Navami Devotees accord importance to Devi Siddhidaatri on Navami. As a bestower of wishes, the ninth day is dedicated to her.

A fresh start

Day 10: Vijayadashami (Dussehra) Following the nine days of reverence, the tenth day is known as Vijayadashami. It signifies a fresh start in life. Additionally, it’s referred to as Vidyarambham—a ceremony where children begin their educational journey. Sindoor Khela is a significant ritual during Vijayadashami.

Navaratri Rituals Throughout the nine nights of worship, Goddess Durga is venerated as ‘Shakti’—the embodiment of power in the initial three days; she transitions to Lakshmi—the embodiment of wealth for the subsequent three days, and in the final three days, she embodies Saraswati—the epitome of knowledge and wisdom.

During this period, fasting is observed, with avoidance of grains, onions, meat, and alcohol in meals. North Indian regions prepare special Navratri foods for fasting devotees.


Navratri time is more than just a festival; it’s a spiritual journey that weaves together mythology, devotion, culture, and tradition. It’s a time to celebrate the divine feminine energy that resides within and around us, as well as a chance to revel in the joyous camaraderie of dance, music, and festive celebrations. As Navratri continues to be celebrated by millions, it remains a powerful reminder of the enduring values of unity, devotion, and the eternal triumph of good over evil

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *